What are the requirements for general transfer admission?
Transfer admission requirements vary by university, but most require a minimum number of credit hours and a minimum GPA for transfer.
When is my transfer application due?
Application deadlines vary by university. Please visit the web page of the university that you are interested in applying to, and the admissions page will indicate the application deadline for transfers.
How do I find out what courses will transfer?
At a community college, the credits fall into one of three categories: transferable, articulated, or neither (often called non-transferable). A transferable course will be accepted at a university and go as a credit towards your degree, at least as an elective — it may or may not count as a general requirement. Articulated credits may be used for both major and general education requirements. To find out for sure what your credits are doing for you, make sure you talk to an advisor at your transfer university.
Is there a limit to the number of credit hours that I can transfer?
Universities are not required to accept more than 66 credit hours of lower-division academic credit. Some universities do accept additional credit hours, so please check with your transfer university to find out what their transfer credit hour limit is and what courses will transfer.
What does it mean to have “excess credit hours”?
Students who enroll in classes that result in earning more than 30 hours beyond the baccalaureate degree plan may be required to pay out-of-state tuition rates for additional credits. Most baccalaureate degree plans are 120 hours, but some do require more. Students should check with their program to find out the number of hours required to complete the degree. If you are concerned about exceeding the maximum number of credit hours permitted at the in-state tuition rate, please talk to an advisor at your transfer university.
What is the six course drop rule?
Texas has a law in place that states that an undergraduate student may not drop more than six courses throughout their undergraduate career. Once a student reaches the six course drop limit, he/she will not be allowed to drop the course and must receive a grade for that course. This rule applies to students who first enrolled in a Texas public higher education institution during or after fall 2007.
Are transfer students required to submit their high school transcripts?
If you have completed the required number of college-level credit hours needed to be considered a transfer students (varies by university), you do not need to submit your high school transcript. Please check with the university that you are interested in applying to for specific information on the minimum required number of college-level credit hours needed to be considered a transfer student.
What immunizations are required?
Collegevaccinerequirements.com provides information on the vaccinations required to enroll in a Texas college or university, including bacterial meningitis.
What is the 3-Peat Rule?
In accordance with Texas Education Code Section 13.105 as of Fall 2002 undergraduate, Texas-resident students and students paying resident tuition attempting the same course for a third (or subsequent) time will be subject to the Three-peat Fee for Undergraduate Hours.
“Attempted” hours are defined as all hours for which the student is enrolled as of the official Census date for the semester or session, regardless of whether the student withdraws from one or all classes after the Census date. Please see the Academic Calendar for the Census date for each semester and/or session.
Success By Degrees
Stories from students who transferred & completed their degrees!
Flexible Degree Completion Programs
Grad TX is a program in Texas that encourages adults to return to college and finish their bachelor’s degrees. The participating universities are Texas universities with established reputations for high quality education and student service.
Finish@UT is a consortium of universities within The University of Texas System that offer a fully online, bachelor’s degree completion program.
Reverse transfer is a program specifically designed to allow students who transfer to a four-year university prior to earning an associate degree to be awarded that credential while pursuing the baccalaureate. Read More